COLLOQUIA: TOP2010

Preface

- J. D'HONDT(1), A. GIAMMANCO(2), F. MALTONI(2) and C. VANDER VELDE(3)
- (1) Vrije Universiteit Brussel (IIHE-VUB) Brussels, Belgium
- (2) Université Catholique de Louvain Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
- (3) Université Libre de Bruxelles (IIHE-ULB) Brussels, Belgium

(ricevuto il 22 Settembre 2010; approvato il 22 Settembre 2010)

The 3rd International Workshop on Top Quark Physics, TOP2010, was held at Brugge, Belgium, from the 31st of May to the 4th of June, 2010, following the successful workshops of the same series in Coimbra (2006) and La Biodola (2008). The purpose of this series of workshops is to bring together all scientific communities interested in studies related to top quarks. The workshop was attended by theoretical physicists and experimental physicists from both the Tevatron and the LHC communities, who discussed the status and future prospects of top-quark physics, including overview talks about the status of the experimental facilities.

It was chosen to limit the attendance to only 130 participants, in order to keep an informal and "workshop-like" atmosphere, and it was with much regret that we had to make a selection among the many pre-registrations (which are a proof of the interest of this research subject).

The programme included reports on the latest measurements performed at the Tevatron, presentations of theoretical developments and the very first results from the ATLAS and CMS experiments at the LHC including discussions on their strategies to start observing top quark events.

The workshop was based on presentations at plenary sessions, giving a comprehensive picture of key subjects in top quark physics. This provided an extensive basis for diverse and critical discussions at the meeting venue during the breaks and dinners. The participation of young physicists was particularly relevant at this workshop, and a poster session provided an additional opportunity for them to present their work.

The meeting would not have been possible without the dedicated help of Daisy Pirnay and Rosine Alluyn for the secretariat, Vincent Boucher for the IT infrastructure, and the staff of the NH Hotel Brugge for the logistics. This meeting was organized by UCL, VUB, and ULB, and sponsored by FNRS and FWO. Last but not least we wish to thank the International Advisory Board(1), as well as the session chairpersons for their guidance.

⁽¹⁾ International Advisory Board: Werner Bernreuther, Tim Christiansen, Stefano Frixione, Tao Han, Richard Hawkings, Eric Laenen, Michelangelo Mangano, Antonio Onofre, Stephen Parke, Christian Schwanenberger, Veronica Sorin, Roberto Tenchini (chair), Scott Willenbrock.