COLLOQUIA: TOP2011

Preface

- M. $BOSMAN(^1)$, A. $JUSTE(^1)(^2)$, Li. M. $MIR(^1)$ and V. $SORIN(^1)$
- (1) Institut de Física d'Altes Energies (IFAE) Barcelona, Spain
- (2) Institució Catalana de Recerca i Estudis Avançats (ICREA) Barcelona, Spain

ricevuto l' 1 Marzo 2012 pubblicato online il 25 Maggio 2012

The 4th International Workshop on Top Quark Physics, TOP2011, was held at Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spain, from the 25th of September to the 30th of September, 2011, following the successful workshops of the same series in Coimbra (2006), La Biodola (2008) and Brugge (2010). The purpose of this series of workshops is to bring together all scientific communities interested in studies related to the top quark. The workshop was attended by theoretical physicists and experimental physicists from both the Tevatron and the LHC experiments, who discussed the status and future prospects of top-quark physics. In order to keep an informal atmosphere that would foster exchange of ideas and communication among all participants, the attendance was limited to about 130 participants.

The workshop included a total of 49 presentations at plenary sessions covering a wide range of topics in top-quark physics, from precision measurements to searches for new physics, both in the top-quark sector as well as in other sectors leading to top-quark–like signatures. Each topic was discussed in a separate session, which was typically started with a presentation on the related theoretical aspects and recent developments, and was followed by reports on experimental results at the Tevatron and the LHC. This provided an extensive basis for diverse and critical discussions at the meeting venue during the breaks and dinners. The participation of young physicists was particularly relevant at the workshop, and a poster session provided an additional opportunity for them to present their work.

The success of the meeting would not have been possible without the dedicated help of Sara Strauch for the secretariat, of Maria Chiara Conidi, Davide Gerbaudo, Clement Helsens, Javier Montejo, Jordi Nadal, Francesco Rubbo, and Antonella Succurro as scientific secretaries, and the logistics provided by the staff of the Hotel Eden Roc. This meeting was organized by IFAE, and sponsored by CPAN. Last but not least, we wish to thank the members of the International Advisory Committee (Werner Bernreuther, Frederic Deliot, Jorgen D'Hondt, Fabio Maltoni (chair), Michelangelo Mangano, Antonio Onofre, Gilad Perez, Frank-Peter Schilling, Tom Schwarz, Roberto Tenchini, Wouter Verkerke, Scott Willenbrock) for their guidance, as well as the session chairpersons for moderating the discussions and contributing to a productive workshop.